šŸ˜¢ Breakups & Refunds

In this newsletter I discuss making sales from a breakup email plus whether to offer refunds on products

Powered by

Hey there šŸ‘‹,

Hope youā€™re good and thanks for continuing to open my emails, Iā€™m loving the open rate with this newsletter:

Over the last week I published a post listing 10 reasons why I think newsletter creators on Substack should pay to be on beehiiv:

And I found a new way to make money from a tripwireā€¦.

Making Sales from a Breakup Email

Last week I talked about turning your top newsletter content into tripwires products (like my Acquire The Web Manual for the eponymous newsletter) and linking to it on your thank you page and within your welcome email to make passive sales.

Well I found another place to add these tripwires too...

In order to keep email deliverability high, you need to keep your open rates high by removing people who are not engaging with your newsletters.

With my Digital Asset Investor newsletter I created a segment in beehiiv for subscribers who have not opened or clicked in the last 60 days.

There were 1350 people in it. I then created an automation to add them to:

With this email saying that they will need to click or will be removed:

The email got a crazy high click rate and generated 67 unique clicks:

So where does the red button link go to?

Thatā€™s right, the tripwire product where itā€™s now generating sales at a 1.5% conversion rate.

The Newsletter Platform Built for Growth

Iā€™ve tried almost every newsletter platform, from Drip to ConvertKit to Substack (running 6 newsletters there at one point) to now beehiiv.

beehiiv was founded by some of the earliest employees of the Morning Brew, so they know what it takes to grow a newsletter from zero to millions.

You get built-in referral functionality, customization, and analytics where you can see the results of paid acquisition. I genuinely couldnā€™t do what I do without them.

Letā€™s talk refunds

Over the last week Iā€™ve gone from a loose refund policy, to one with steps to now not offering one at all. This was due to suspecting someone purchased with the intention to immediately cancel:

Instead of a refund, Iā€™m now simply offering to personally answer any questions that a customer has, where they feel the product is lacking. Here is the current disclaimer:

I do not offer refunds. I did but felt people were abusing it. But I do offer Ask Me Anything Questions - Email. If you have questions I have not answered for you in the product, simply email me them and I will answer via email, Google Doc or even video.

Iā€™ll see how it goes, but with refunds it does feel like you have to either offer a full no questions asked refund, or donā€™t offer any. Although that still doesnā€™t stop people asking:

Classifieds

#1 How should you segment your audience? Personalize your messaging? And leverage automation to get off the "email hamster wheel"... without getting overwhelmed? Brennan Dunn at Create & Sell tackles these questions, and more, each week. Subscribe here.

#2 Proven Strategies To Simplify Audience And Business Growth. For The Interested is a one-paragraph newsletter thatā€™s read by 28,134 creative entrepreneurs. Subscribe here.

#3 Learn how to 2X your business using email marketing and automation with Evergreen. Doubling revenue with the same amount of time put in or cutting that time in half and still getting the same revenue. Subscribe here.

šŸ‘ Recommended Newsletters on beehiiv

Digital Asset InvestorYour weekly roundup of digital asset news
Acquire The WebDigital media asset deal flow from the main marketplaces every Monday
Newsletter OperatorLearn how to grow and monetize your newsletter. Trusted by 16,000+ media founders, CEOs, creators.

Ok thatā€™s it from me, Iā€™ll be back in your inbox next Friday or sooner if you subscribe to my other newsletters on beehiiv above.

Cheers!

Richard Patey (@richardpatey)

Disclaimer: Nothing in this email is business advice and I am not a professional business adviser. I send weekly updates on the creator economy and what I'm doing personally - consider it informational and for entertainment purposes only. This newsletter is monetized through sponsorship, affiliate revenue and my own products.